Expand your reading list with the best books for fans of The Traitors

Claudia Winkleman Press Image for “The Traitors” in the centre of four mystery books, And Then There Were None, The Murder List, The Inheritance Games and The Murder Game.

by Piper Huxley |
Updated on

If you are a Faithful fan of The Traitors, browse our pick of the best books for fans of The Traitors. These thrilling mystery novels are perfect for those who miss the show. At Yours, we’re eagerly awaiting the re-appearance of Claudia Winkelman’s fashion at Andross Castle on the BBC, in the UK’s third instalment of the popular competition show. Between seasons, you're bound to miss the thrilling nature of the show, full of its trademark twists and turns, intrigue and mystery. So, why not crack a case (or two) at home?

From the Queen of Mystery Fiction, Agatha Christie, to best-selling books by recent authors, we've picked a bunch of novels primed and ready for the fans of The Traitors. And, for those of you who are sure you'd make a good Traitor, why not try Influence is Your Superpower, to help you master the art of persuasion and influence? If you're unfamiliar with the series, The Traitors is the BBC's competition reality show hosted by Claudia Winkleman. Essentially, it's a parlour game of trust, treachery and tension.

It's no surprise that we've chosen thrilling and tense mystery books for you to read on your Faithful Kindle, curled up in your chosen reading nook. With hauntingly good tension, this TV show is addictive, to say the least. With tense conformation scenes and unbearable cliffhangers, The Traitors is akin to a book you simply cannot put down. Luckily, for you, two seasons of the show are available to watch. For fans of The Traitors - or those of you who love a good page-turner, check out our round-up below.

Best books for fans of _The Traitor_s

Below, are some grippingly-tense books for fans of The Traitors.

The Traitors: The official book of the BAFTA-winning BBC phenomenonBBC
Price: $29.16

Though technically not a novel, we would be remiss of us to not include The Traitors: The Interactive Game Book. Put your grey cells to the test in a world of deception, betrayal, and strategy. Placed in a castle in the Highlands, you must figure out if your fellow players are Faithful or a Traitor. Exciting...

The Party Guest By Amanda RobsonHarperCollins Publishers
Price: £8.27 (was £8.99)

www.whsmith.co.uk

The Party Guest by Amanda Robson hosts a birthday trip for Ralph, 45, like no other. An extended family stays in a villa on the Amalfi coast - but, under the polite facade, lurks a harbouring for deception and betrayal. By the end of the trip, two people are dead - will anyone be able to unwrap the truth?

The Guilty CoupleHarperCollins

What would you do if your husband framed you for murder? Once free, Olivia Sutherland has three goals: Repair her relationship with her daughter. Clear her name. And bring down her husband - the man who framed her. Hands up if you remember Double Jeopardy starring Tommy Lee Jones...

The Escape Room by L.D. SmithsonBantam
Price: $21.24

Squid Game meets The Traitors, The Escape Room by L.D. Smithson is a gripping debut thriller about a reality TV show that turns deadly. Eight contestants. One killer. Can you find the traitor?

And Then There Were None: The World's Favourite Agatha Christie BookHarperCollins
Price: £9.19 (was £9.99)

www.whsmith.co.uk

How could we forget about Miss Christie? From the Queen of Murder Mystery, And Then There Were None has ten strangers invited to Soldier Island, an isolated rock off the Devon coast. Cut off from the mainland, with their hosts mysteriously absent, they are each accused of a terrible crime. When one of the party dies suddenly they realise they may be harbouring a murderer among their number....

Influence is Your Superpower by Zoe ChanceVermilion
Price: £11.95 (was £12.99)

www.whsmith.co.uk

Drawing on the latest behavioural research, entertaining real-life stories and the skills she teaches on her sell-out course, Zoe Chance unpacks what influence is and how we are persuaded before setting out a series of powerful skills you can adopt to master the art of persuasion and influence. This is a must-read for all fans of The Traitors, especially those who think they have the right stuff to be on the show.

The Murder Game: A gripping murder mystery from The Sunday Times bestselling authorPenguin
Price: $17.25

Fast-paced, thrilling and full of tension, The Murder Game by Tom Hindle has been described as a "must-read for Christie fans". Guests assemble at Hamlet Hall for a New Year's party. Here, they are to take part in a murder mystery game with a 1920s twist, and everyone has their part to play. But the evening has just begun when one guest is found dead. Clearly, someone is playing by their own rules...

The Hike by Lucy ClarkeHarperFiction
Price: £3 (RRP £8.99)

www.theworks.co.uk

It's perfect for a hike in the Norwegian wild. Nothing lies between four friends and the mountain peak by forest, sea and sharp blue sky. Here is the perfect place to disappear - and to keep secrets buried...

Double or Nothing by Kim SherwoodHarperCollins

If you're a fan of James Bond, why not grab a coffee of Double or Nothing by Kim Sherwood? When a billionaire claims he can reverse the climate crisis and James Bond has been kidnapped by enemy forces, MI6's finest agents are sent to investigate in this spy thriller set in the world of 007...

The Murder List By Jackie Kabler One More Chapter
Price: £6.29 (was £8.99)

www.whsmith.co.uk

Fast-paced and very tense, The Murder List by Jackie Kabler is a gripping psychological thriller. Mary finds a list of names, including her own, in a thought-to-be blank diary - and after the first person on the list is murdered in January, Mary becomes suspicious. Could there be a killer out there? The clock is ticking for Mary to uncover the truth before she becomes the next victim on the killer’s list…

The Guest List by Lucy FoleyHarperCollins
Price: £6.99 (was £9.99)

www.whsmith.co.uk

Shortlisted for the British Book Awards Crime & Thriller Book of the Year 2021, The Guest List by Lucy Foley is perfect for a late-night read. Old friends. Past grudges. Happy families. Hidden jealousies. Thirteen guests. One body. Isolated on an island. All with secrets and motives. Convinced? We are, too.

The Bachelorette Party: The unmissable crime thriller from the USA Today bestselling author Paperback – 24 Nov. 2022One More Chapter

Rrp: $18.99

Price: $13.59

With sharp writing and a great plot, The Bachelorette Party by Carissa Ann Lynch is a cult favourite. Set during a Bachelorette (or Hen Do for us Brits), six women are excited for a chance to escape their everyday lives. But, then, friendly rivalries turn vicious, and a game of truth or dare turns deadly.

Listen for the Lie by Amy TinteraTransworld Publishers Ltd
Price: £12.99 (was £14.99)

www.waterstones.com

The Sunday Times Pick of the Month for March, Listen for the Lie by Amy Tintera is a dark comedy with darker thrillers. A whodunnit with thrilling twists and turns, this novel is one of our favourites. Lucy has no idea if she murdered her best friend and she’d do just about anything to find out…

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn BarnesPenguin
Price: $14.26

If you're looking for a new book series to get into - and become obsessed with - we recommend The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. Perfect for fans of The Traitors and Karen McManus, this romantic, addictive and twisty mystery is driven by money - full of dark secrets and deadly stakes.

Daisy Darker: A Gripping Psychological Thriller With a Killer Ending You'll Never ForgetPan
Price: $17.87

Daisy Darker is an all-consuming tale of psychological suspense with a spectacular twist from the internationally bestselling author Alice Feeney, inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Clever, compelling and absolutely gripping, we love this unpredictable pick from Alice Feeney.

My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan BraithwaiteAtlantic Books

Rrp: $19.99

Price: $12.61

Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019, My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite is a literary sensation and a bombshell of a book. Set in Nigeria, My Sister, the Serial Killer follows dependable Korede and her younger sister, Ayoola, who occasionally murders people.

FAQs

What is The Traitors about?

The Traitors is the reality show that has taken over the world. Filmed at a castle in the Highlands, the competition reality show sets the stage for grisly murders, banishment and super-tense table scenes. Contestants are in to win a cash prize in the ultimate game of trust and treachery. You have to figure out who is lying - like it's Wink Murder. It’s perfect for fans of thrillers and murder mysteries.

If you like the sound of these books for fans of The Traitors, maybe it's time to upgrade your book storage.

Where can I watch The Traitors?

You can cosy up and watch the first two seasons of The Traitors on BBC iPlayer - with no cliffhangers. You may need to set aside a good few hours. You'll likely become quickly obsessed with the show's fast-paced nature and unmissable (and tense) scenes at the Round Table.

You'll hear yourself say 'just another episode' a lot, we're sure.

As applications for the next season of The Traitors closed in February, the BBC are planning the third instalment in the billiards room as we speak…

Where was The Traitors filmed?

The Traitors is filmed just north of Inverness at Ardross Castle in the Scottish Highlands. A magnificent 19th-century castle in the Scottish Baronial style, this beautiful building is situated between beautiful gardens and over 100 acres of parkland on the banks of the River Alness.

Piper Huxley is a Homes, Garden and Wellness Product Writer for Yours, an all-rounder who will write on anything from décor to wellness. When not scouring the net for the best home bargains, Piper is listening to a musical soundtrack and tending to her houseplants.

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us