Lizzy Dening

Get to know Joanna Lumley

Lizzy Dening
Get to know Joanna Lumley
joanna-lumley.jpg

The actress and model is going on tour for the first time ever, with a one-woman show that will take a peek behind the scenes of her almost 50-year career.

The 71-year-old has said the show, called It’s All About Me, will be ‘fabulous’ and is finding planning which stories to tell ‘utterly thrilling’.

Prepare to discover more about her past as a young mum and model in the 1960s and 70s, her work on New Avengers (and the Purdey haircut that launched a thousand copies!) and of course her time on Absolutely Fabulous with Jennifer Saunders.

But you might have forgotten her roles in Coronation Street, On The Buses and Dracula. She was even a Bond girl in On her Majesty’s Secret Service. 

joanna-lumley-young.jpg

She is, of course, known for her charity work and activism too, and famously helped to secure the rights of Gurkhas who retired before 1997 to be able to settle in the UK.

“Nothing like this has come my way before, and I may have to be dragged off with a hook at the end of each show,” Joanna says. “Oh people! This is especially for you from me, with masses of love.”

She’ll be joined on stage by friend and producer Clive Tulloh who will ask her questions written by the audience, so each night will be different. It should be a lovely blast of nostalgia, and a great way to get to know one of Britain’s most treasured stars.

Here are the dates and destinations:


Saturday 06 October: Belfast Waterfront Hall

Sunday 07 October: Dublin Bord Gais Theatre

Tuesday 09 October: Birmingham Symphony Hall

Wednesday 10 October: Newcastle Gateshead Theatre

Thursday 11 October: Glasgow SEC Armadillo

Friday 12 October: Edinburgh EICCSaturday

13 October: Blackpool Opera House

Sunday 14 October: Salford The Lowry

Wednesday 17 October: Oxford New Theatre

Thursday 18 October: Bristol Hippodrome

Friday 19 October: Nottingham Royal Concert Hall

Saturday 20 October: Cardiff Wales Millennium Centre

Sunday 21 October: Cambridge Corn Exchange

Monday 22 October: Ipswich Regent Theatre

Wednesday 24 October: Sheffield City Hall

Thursday 25 October: Southend Cliffs Pavilion

Friday 26 October: Leeds First Direct Arena

Saturday 27 October: Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Sunday 28 October: York Barbican

Monday 29 October: London Palladium

Wednesday 31 October: Plymouth Pavilions

Thursday 01 November: Coventry Warwick Arts Centre

Friday 02 November: Southampton 02 Guild Hall

Saturday 03 November: Bournemouth BIC

Sunday 04 November: Portsmouth Guild Hall

Tuesday 06 November: Leicester De Montfort Hall

Wednesday 07 November: Blackburn King Georges Hall

Thursday 08 November: Brighton Dome

Friday 09 November: Northampton Derngate Theatre

Saturday 10 November: Aylesbury Waterside Theatre