6 of the best UK breaks for fans of the Great British Bake Off!

6 of the best UK breaks for fans of the Great British Bake Off!
The%20Tack%20Barn,%20Kendal,%20Near%20Windermere.jpg

1. Hovis Bread

Gold Hill in Shaftesbury, Dorset 
The famous Hovis advert was filmed in 1973 on Gold Hill in Shaftesbury, Dorset and it was a commercial that earned itself a slice of British history. A little known fact is that the advert was filmed by Oscar winning director Ridley Scott. Shaftesbury is the highest town in Dorset, offering stunning views of the Dorset countryside. One of the neighbouring towns, Gillingham, has a rich history that dates back over thousands of years, the town has enjoyed mentions in numerous literary works including the work of Thomas Hardy.
 
Get a taste:

  • No.3 Powlett Road Central Bath - From £177 per night (sleeps four). Book here
  • Wookey E64 - From £64 per night (sleeps four). Book here

2.  Bakewell Tart

Bakewell, Derbyshire Dales
The Bakewell Tart is said to have been created after a chef mixed the wrong recipe at the Rutland Arms in the small town of Bakewell in the Derbyshire Dales in England. The tart is made from shortcrust pastry filled with a sponge cake filling, a layer of jam and an egg and almond filling which is then topped with white fondant icing and a red cherry. The surrounding area offers the beautiful Chatsworth house, a thrilling cable car ride with amazing views of the Dales, as well as a wealth of other places to visit including historic houses, beautiful gardens, steam railways and a family theme park.
 
Get a taste:

  • Knowles House - From £385 per night (sleeps 12). Book here
  • Appleton Manor Special House - From £208 per night (sleeps 6). Book here

3. Eccles Cake

Eccles, Greater Manchester
Named after the English town of Eccles, an Eccles cake is a small, round cake filled with currants and made from flaky pastry with butter, sometimes topped with Demerara sugar. The town of Eccles is situated in the City of Salford in Greater Manchester, only 3.7 miles west of Manchester city centre. For Sports mad fans who aren’t Bake-off obsessed, the famous Old Trafford, home to Manchester United football team and Manchester City's football grounds are both nearby.
 
Get a taste:

  • Luxury Furnished Studio Apartment - From £118 per night (sleeps two). Book here
  • City Centre Flat – From £119 per night (sleeps four). Book here

4. Eton Mess

Eton, Berkshire
Eton mess is a traditional English dessert consisting of a mixture of strawberries, pieces of meringue, and cream, which is traditionally served at Eton College's annual cricket game against the pupils of Harrow School. Eton and Windsor have an eclectic mix of history, culture, heritage and fun making it one of South East England’s loveliest short break destinations. Known the world over, Windsor Castle and LEGOLAND® Windsor Resort are ‘must see’ attractions, as well as the infamous Eton College, founded by King Henry VI in 1440 which is teaming with history and an impressive array of former students.
 
Get a taste:

  • Luxury Cottage waterfront views - Form £538 per night (Sleeps seven). Book here
  • Hill Top Farm Lodges - From £121 (Sleeps two). Book here

5. Kendal Mint Cake

Kendal,  Cumbria (pictured)
Kendal Mint Cake is a confection flavoured with peppermint. It originates from Kendal in Cumbria, England. Kendal Mint Cake is popular among climbers and mountaineers, especially those from the United Kingdom, as a source of energy. The town of Kendal is situated to the South of the Lake District, and only a few miles from the sea, catering to all of the families holiday needs. It  boasts plenty of history with two castles, two museums, and a host of historical buildings and bridges to explore.
 
Get a taste:

  • Golfers Retreat, Kendal, South Lakes - From £77 per night (sleeps four). Book here
  • The Tack Barn, Kendal - From £57 per night (sleeps two). Book here

6. Scones

Devon & Dorset, United Kingdom
Contrary to popular opinion,  it is thought that scones may well have originated in Scotland, with the first known print reference being in 1513, from a Scottish poet. However, scones are more widely known as a speciality of Devon and Cornwall and are famously offered for sale in tea rooms served with jam and clotted cream across the counties. Both counties are known for their quiet coves, sandy beaches, great wildlife, and rolling countryside offering stunning views and a multitude of places to explore. The Dorset and East Devon Coast, also known as The Jurassic Coast, was the first 'natural' World Heritage Site, it spans 95 miles of dramatic coastline and includes a range of world-renowned fossils of all types.
 
Get a taste:

  • Rural Barn Conversion - From £69 per night (sleeps five). Book here
  • Sea view Maisonette - From £103 per night (sleeps four). Book here

For more information, visit www.housetrip.com