Skip to content

Forums

• Read updates on Forum functionality

> Service Annoucements

• Please give us feedback, report problems or suggest improvements. Please remember to include the URL of the page. 

>
SEND US AN EMAIL

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

You are in... Forums > Have your say! > Carer's Discussion forum > Bored and lonely

Go to most recent reply

DianneP

Jan 11

DianneP says:

Bored and lonely

Hello, I’m new to all this so let me introduce myself:

My name is Dianne. I’m 65 years old, not particularly old but to a 17 year old I’m as old as Methuselah’s granny! My husband is 66. We live in the East Midlands. We moved here 18 months ago from Dorset.

My husband suffered a devastating stroke three years ago which left him hospitalised for four months, paralysed down his left side, partially incontinent and with a failing heart. I’m not in the best of health myself. I was reasonably fit, apart from arthritis in my knees and hip before the stroke but since then because of the stress and strains have developed fibromyalgia.

The point is I’m so bored and lonely cooped up in the house all the time. I would love to have an email pen friend who is in similar circumstances and would understand and empathise. Who knows perhaps we could support each other.

Is anyone out there?

Reply to this Topic 

MAI

Jan 08

MAI says:

Re: Bored and lonely

Hi Dianne,  sorry to hear about your husbands  stroke it must have been devasting for you,  if you go into "Come on In" and introduce yourself to everyone you'll soon make some new friends on here we are all very friendly.

Grow old along with me, the best is yet to be............ Health is Wealth.............. A woman is like a tea bag, you don't know how strong until they are in hot water!

Reply to this Topic 

Sally

Nov 06

Sally says: